Our Lady of the Prairies

Our Lady of the Prairies

The provincial shrine of Our Lady of the Prairies, located in the Place of Assembly, depicts Mary as a fellow prairie pilgrim. Sculptured in bonded bronze in Florence, Italy, Mary holds a sheaf of wheat as a mother lovingly and gently holds her child. The wheat, a symbol of Christ, the Bread of Life, is also an essential part of prairie life. Mary walks on the slanted pedestal, protected by her mantle cloak from the prairie winds as she moves with and protects her people on the pilgrimage of faith.

The backdrop mural by Ronald Millard illustrates in wood relief carvings and paintings the eight Marian shrines in Saskatchewan where diocesan pilgrimages are held annually: Our  Lady of Lourdes, St. Laurent, Diocese of Prince Albert; Holy Rosary Church, Reward, Diocese of Saskatoon; Mount Carmel, Diocese of Saskatoon; Our Lady of Sorrows, Blummenfeld and Ponteix, Archdiocese of Regina; Our Lady of Lourdes, Rama and Kronau, and Mary, Queen of Our Hearts Church, Lestock, Archdiocese of Regina. The Ukrainian Rite of the Church (Saskatchewan Eparchy) is depicted in the mural by our Lady of Sorrows Shrine, Cudworth, and by a niche in the mural wall featuring a Marian icon.


Sunday Bulletins


Liturgy Schedule

Sunday Mass Times

Saturday    5:00 pm
Sunday    10:00 am, 12:00 noon, 7:00 pm

Daily Mass

Tuesday to Friday: 8:30 am

Saturday:  11:00 am - 12:00 pm

Adoration of the Blessed Sacrament
Sunday:   1:00 pm - 5:00 pm  
Friday:     9:00 am - 12:00 noon

Join Our Email List
Get parish news and event announcements delivered right to your inbox!

Office Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:00 am -  4 pm
Phone: 306-374-1425
Fax: 306-374-3190
email: info@holyspiritsaskatoon.ca

Parish Contacts

Parish Staff
Fr. Darryl Millette   - Pastor
Fr. Peter Olisa - Associate Pastor
Delores McLean - Office Administrator
Monica Johnson - Financial Administrator
Kelly Wormsbecker - Ministry of Care
Charlene Nijhawan - Ministry of Care 
Celena Komarnicki - Youth Ministry Coordinator
Sharon Powell - Faith Formation & Sacramental Preparation
Arch McKay - Christian Initiation of Adults
Jack Altrogge - Building Maintenance

Pastoral Council
Fernand Boutin, Chair
Louise Bitz
James Nestmann
Kenton Peterson
Lynn Eremondi
Ian Rana
Jonathon Neufeld
Bev Jutras

Finance Committee
Basil Waslen - Chair
Pat Pitka
Ed Solie
Mike Gartner
Bob Korol

114 Kingsmere Place

View Larger Map